Plugging into the Music that Matters

We Were Promised Jetpacks reveal new album details

Four years since the release of Unravelling, We Were Promised Jetpacks have announced when their fourth album will be released.

We Were Promised Jetpacks
On the back of announcing a world tour, We Were Promised Jetpacks have now revealed details of their fourth album, due out later this year.

Last week the explosive indie rockers We Were Promised Jetpacks, revealed they’ll soon be embarking on a world tour this autumn. The Edinburgh band have now unveiled the details of their fourth album.

We Were Promised Jetpacks last released an album four years ago; Unravelling, which featured songs ‘A Part of It’, ‘Safety in Numbers’ and ‘Peaks and Troughs’. Since finishing their tour of the album in 2016, the band went away to work on the follow-up, along with help from producer Jonathan Low, who’s previously worked with Kurt Vile, Frightened Rabbit and more.

The ‘Quiet Little Voices’ band recorded in The National’s studio in Hudson Valley, New York. In an announcement on Brooklyn Vegan, the band revealed that their fourth album will be called The More I Sleep, The Less I Dream. Along with the album announcement, they premiered the lead single from their forthcoming record.

Hanging In’ is the first taste of what to expect from their next record  and while it still packs that punch that We Were Promised Jetpacks deliver so well, it has a somewhat smoother, less aggressive style to it.

However, it still has an edgy, rising tension throughout. A sultry melody from the start draws you in, yet it gradually rises, before in classic We Were Promised Jetpacks fashion implodes into a glorious wall of noise. With quivering guitar lines and frontman Adam Thompson singing; “you’re walking me, talking me, pushing me under the bus… don’t push me, don’t push me, don’t push…” over and over, it then erupts with a tension-alleviating instrumental.

Listen to ‘Hanging In’ below.

It’s a stellar return from the Scottish indie quartet and sets the bar high for what’s to follow when The More I Sleep, The Less I Dream is released on September 14th. The album will also be the band’s first release since signing with record label, Big Scary Monsters.

The More I Sleep, The Less I Dream by We Were Promised Jetpacks
The More I Sleep, The Less I Dream, the fourth album by We Were Promised Jetpacks, set for release via Big Scary Monsters on September 14th.

The tracklist for The More I Sleep, The Less I Dream, the forthcoming album from We Were Promised Jetpacks is as follows:

1. Impossible
2. In Light
3. Someone Else’s Problem
4. Make It Easier
5. Hanging In
6. Improbable
7. When I Know More
8. Not Wanted
9. Repeating Patterns
10. The More I Sleep, The Less I Dream.

You can pre-order the album now via Big Scary Monsters website by clicking here.

One thought on “We Were Promised Jetpacks reveal new album details

  1. LOL!! “Frontman Stuart McGachan.” Stuart departed the band after Unraveling, and only joined as the 5th member for that album and its first tour. Adam Thompson has always been the front man.

    Otherwise, thanks for the article! Love these guys!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.