Plugging into the Music that Matters

Interpol return with new song and album details

Doom and gloom rockers Interpol, announced at a press conference in Mexico City, details of their sixth album.

New York post-punk stalwarts, Interpol
At a Mexico City press conference, Interpol unveiled details of their sixth album.

The New York indie stalwarts Interpol, revealed that their sixth album is set to be released later this summer. It’s been four years since the band’s last album El Pintor, was released.

However, during a press conference in Mexico City, the band unveiled details of what will be their sixth studio album. The trio revealed that their next record will be called Marauder and is set for release on August 24th.

While it’s been four years since their last record, the band embarked on a tour last year to celebrate the 15th anniversary of the release of their debut album Turn on the Bright Lights. Something drummer Sam Fogarino said made an impact on them when recording the latest effort, Marauder: ‘Simply put, it just injected that live energy into the process… It brought that excitement into the writing, and then the recording process”.

Marauder appears to be a themed album, with the title appearing throughout the album as a character. It sees the band take a somewhat different direction with a potential concept album. Frontman Paul Banks, said during the Mexico City press conference: “Marauder is a character that appears in a number of the songs and is actually mentioned in the song ‘Stay In Touch’.

There’s a few characters in this record, but that being the one that comes up repeatedly… it’s taking one element of the record and putting that at the forefront”.

Shortly before the press conference, Interpol released Marauder’s lead single, titled ‘The Rover’. It’s quick to remind us why the New York post-punk band are so good. With Fogarino’s signature drumming and piercing guitar hooks and a rumbling bass line, all that was left was Paul Bank’s cutthroat and devilish lyrics. He didn’t disappoint;

Maybe it’s time, you can’t stick to the highways, it’s suicide…

I’m welling up with excitement again… it makes me love you, you need to tell your friends”. It’s fast, packs a punch and is everything that’s great about Interpol. The song shows that maybe after the departure of bassist Carlos Dengler, Interpol have finally found their way again.

Listen to ‘The Rover’ below

During their press conference, they also revealed a world tour for later this year, including dates across the UK:

July 1: TRNSMT Festival, Glasgow

July 7: British Summer Time Festival, Hyde Park, London

November 14: Royal Albert Hall, London

The tracklisting for Interpol’s sixth album Marauder:

1. If You Really Love Nothing
2. The Rover
3. Complications
4. Flight of Fancy
5. Stay in Touch
6. Interlude 1
7. Mountain Child
9. Surveillance
10. Number 10
11. Party’s Over
12. Interlude 2
13. It Probably Matters

Artwork for Interpol’s sixth album, Marauder
The sixth album from Interpol Marauder, is due out on August 24th.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.