Plugging into the Music that Matters

Editors return with new single ‘Magazine’ and album details

It’s been three years since Editors last release but the ‘Munich’ band are back with new single ‘Magazine’.

Editors return with new single, ‘Magazine’ and details of new album Violence.
Editors return with new single, ‘Magazine’ and details of new album Violence.

Editors debuted their new single on BBC Radio 1 as Annie Mac’s Hottest Track in the World on Monday night. ‘Magazine’ is the first piece of new music since 2015 when they released they’re fifth album, IN DREAM.

Editors’ latest offering sees the band lean into the electronic influence that appeared on IN DREAM and 2009’s In This Light and On This Evening. ‘Magazine’ is driven by a pulsating beat and hypnotic synths. The unmistakable raw vocals of Tom Smith sings about being drowned out and an urge to be heard.  The intensity of the song is gripping and it’s dark atmosphere will draw you in.

Shortly after the song’s debut, the band revealed the details of their sixth album, titled Violence, released via PIAS records. The album will be released on March 9th with three intimate gigs to celebrate its launch, playing in Manchester, Norwich and Birmingham.

Speaking to Jo Whiley on BBC Radio 2, Smith said about the forthcoming record; “We had a lot of help from a guy called Blanck Mass, who makes very brutal electronic music. So when it’s electronic, it’s very electronic. But then when it’s guitar-y, it’s very band driven. I think we’ve managed to find the balance of those two things better than we have done before.

“Over the years, we’ve gone from backwards between more band-orientated sounding records and more electronic records. I think there’s a balance here between melody and brutality that I don’t think we’ve managed to get before.

The Birmingham band will play in Manchester’s Cathedral on March 5th, with tickets going on sale this Friday (19th January) at 9am.

Violence will feature nine tracks, including ‘Magazine’. The track listing is as follows:

1. ‘Cold

2. ‘Hallelujah (So Cold)

3. ‘Violence

4. ‘Darkness At The Door

5. ‘Nothingness

6. ‘Magazine’

7.  ‘No Sound But The Wind

8. ‘Counting Spooks

9. ‘Belong

Violence, the sixth album from Editors is out on March 9th.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.