Plugging into the Music that Matters

The National announce details of Grateful Dead tribute album

It’s been known for a long time that The National had been working away to create a tribute album of songs from Grateful Dead and finally today, the Cincinnati band have unveiled the details we’ve been waiting for.

The record, Day of the Dead, will feature 59 tracks and hosts a star-studded line up with Bon Iver, The Walkmen, Yo La Tengo, Courtney Barrett, Mumford & Sons, Grizzly Bear and The War on Drugs, just to name a few. Project front-runners, The National also feature throughout the 6 hours of music put on the record as well.

The Grateful Dead tribute is set for release on May 20th via 4AD Records. Day of the Dead, will be available digitally as a five disc set and also a limited edition vinyl boxset. All proceeds will help towards the Red Hot Organisation, which helps in the fight against AIDS. Day of the Dead will be available to pre-order from March 24th.

Check out the full track-list and artwork below:

Day of the Dead
Day of the Dead album artwork

Thunder (Vol.1)

01. The War on Drugs – “Touch of Grey”
02. Phosphorescent, Jenny Lewis & Friends – “Sugaree”
03. Jim James & Friends – “Candyman”
04. Moses Sumney, Jenny Lewis & Friends – “Cassidy”
05. Bruce Hornsby and DeYarmond Edison – “Black Muddy River”
06. Ed Droste, Binki Shapiro & Friends – “Loser”
07. The National – “Peggy-O”
08. Kurt Vile and the Violators (featuring J Mascis) – “Box of Rain”
09. Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Friends – “Rubin and Cherise”
10. Perfume Genius, Sharon Van Etten & Friends – “To Lay Me Down”
11. Courtney Barnett – “New Speedway Boogie”
12. Mumford & Sons – “Friend of the Devil”
13. Lucius – “Uncle John’s Band”
14. The Lone Bellow & Friends – “Me and My Uncle”
15. Lee Ranaldo, Lisa Hannigan & Friends – “Mountains of the Moon”
16. Anohni and yMusic – “Black Peter”
17. Bryce Dessner – “Garcia Counterpoint”
18. Daniel Rossen, Christopher Bear and The National (featuring Josh Kaufman, Conrad Doucette, So Percussion and Brooklyn Youth Chorus) – “Terrapin Station (Suite)”
19. Angel Olsen – “Attics of My Life”
20. Wilco with Bob Weir – “St. Stephen (live)”

Lightning (Vol. 2)

01. Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy – “If I Had the World to Give”
02. Phosphorescent & Friends – “Standing on the Moon”
03. Charles Bradley and Menahan Street Band – “Cumberland Blues”
04. The Tallest Man on Earth & Friends – “Ship of Fools”
05. Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Friends – “Bird Song ”
06. The National – “Morning Dew”
07. Marijuana Deathsquads – “Truckin’”
08. Cass McCombs, Joe Russo & Friends – “Dark Star”
09. Nightfall of Diamonds – “Nightfall of Diamonds”
10. Tim Hecker – “Transitive Refraction Axis for John Oswald”
11. Lucinda Williams & Friends – “Going Down The Road Feelin’ Bad”
12. Tunde Adebimpe, Lee Ranaldo & Friends – “Playing in the Band”
13. Local Natives – “Stella Blue”
14. Tal National – “Eyes of the World”
15. Bela Fleck ¬– “Help on the Way”
16. Orchestra Baobab – “Franklin’s Tower”
17. Luluc with Xylouris White – “Till the Morning Comes”
18. The Walkmen – “Ripple”
19. Richard Reed Parry with Caroline Shaw and Little Scream (featuring Garth Hudson) – “Brokedown Palace”

Sunshine (Vol. 3)

01. Real Estate – “Here Comes Sunshine”
02. Unknown Mortal Orchestra – “Shakedown Street”
03. Hiss Golden Messenger – “Brown-Eyed Women”
04. This Is the Kit – “Jack-A-Roe”
05. Daniel Rossen and Christopher Bear – “High Time”
06. The Lone Bellow & Friends – “Dire Wolf”
07. Winston Marshall, Kodiak Blue and Shura – “Althea”
08. Orchestra Baobab – “Clementine Jam”
09. Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks – “China Cat Sunflower -> I Know You Rider”
10. Bill Callahan – “Easy Wind”
11. Ira Kaplan & Friends – “Wharf Rat”
12. The Rileys – “Estimated Prophet”
13. Man Forever, So Percussion and Oneida – “Drums -> Space”
14. Fucked Up – “Cream Puff War”
15. The Flaming Lips – “Dark Star”
16. s t a r g a z e – “What’s Become of the Baby”
17. Vijay Iyer – “King Solomon’s Marbles”
18. Mina Tindle & Friends – “Rosemary”
19. Sam Amidon – “And We Bid You Goodnight”
20. The National with Bob Weir – “I Know You Rider (live)”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.